They see sky

In the last week, it feels like spring has exploded. The flowers have begun to bloom, and the lambing is well underway.  We have started planting, and things are growing again.  Things are dreadfully early, of course, but it is wonderful to see living things pushing forth from the ground.

Seeing the daffodils and hyacinths in bloom is such a cheering thing. And it is especially nice to see the fernleaf peonies beginning to grow, since that was newly planted this fall.

But the best part for me is being able to resume the tasks that make me feel like a gardener again.  It is time to weed and rake and weed some more. And it is time to build trellises for peas and clean the vegetable beds for a fresh start.  And it is time to plant seeds.  This morning, when I looked, my peas had begun to germinate, and my spinach too.

And it feels like waking up.  Let me wave my nerd flag around for a minute.  This return to weeding and “real” gardening reminds me of the episode of Firefly where they have been transporting cattle to another planet and River says of the cattle, “They weren’t cows inside. They were waiting to be, but they forgot. Now they see sky, and they remember what they are.”  I feel like the cows.  Like during the winter, I have forgotten who I am, but now I remember.  It feels like waking up.

Spring is here, and I leave you with that. And a picture of a brand new lamb.

lambchops

About weedsandwildthings

I am a horticulturist and knitter and writer, and many other things besides.
This entry was posted in gardening, geeky, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

