Feeling stretched thin

It has been a long hot, occasionally horrible summer.  It is September now, and I just want it to be over.  And of course it’s not.

The heat has been accompanied by a stoppage of rain.  After a spring so wet it felt like we were drowning, the summer has been dry.  The soil is either baked hard or powder dry when you dig in it, and all we do is water.  It has been too hot to plant the fall vegetables, with days still creeping into the 90s.  It’s September, shouldn’t this be over now?

The heat has started to wear on me.  It’s just one long hot day after another.  I am tired, exhausted all the way down to my bones.

I got home the other day, and I was feeling burnt out, starting to feel like the soil; dry and ruined and like nothing would grow in it, but I had to water my plants.  So as I’m dragging my watering can back and forth from the sink to the porch, I notice movement.  At first, I thought it was just a plant moving when I’d bumped it, but then I saw it again, and I definitely hadn’t touched anything that time.  So I looked a little closer, and realized that there was this big fat toad, who had hollowed out a space in one of my pots.

fat-toad

He was enormous.  And all of a sudden I felt a little better, a little less tired and dried up.  Seeing something living in my pots was such a relief.  And I hope he stays, and keeps eating the insects in my yard.

About weedsandwildthings

I am a horticulturist and knitter and writer, and many other things besides.
This entry was posted in gardening, nature, summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

